Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

For Immediate Release


Blue Ribbon Panel Adds Business Leaders to Assist Community Leaders Examining Pepco Reliability Issues

D.C. Chamber of Commerce Head, Barbara Lang, on Board

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Pepco today announced the names of members of the newly formed independent panel to examine Pepco's reliability. The 21 members will join the Blue Ribbon Panel for Prince George's County, led by former Maryland Public Service Commission (PSC) Chairman and Venable attorney, Glenn Ivey, and for the District of Columbia, led by former Principal Deputy Corporation Counsel for the District of Columbia, now D.C. Office of the Attorney General, Claude E. Bailey, also a Venable attorney.

The purpose of the blue ribbon panels is to allow Pepco customers - residential, commercial and governmental - in Prince George's County and the District to give direct feedback about service reliability. The panel will gather input on issues related to reliability and restoration activities, including coordination with government entities, restoration times, outage maps and customer communications.

"The panels are made up of a diverse cross-section of community, government and business leaders in the two jurisdictions and we are eager to have them get their work under way," said Ivey.

In the District, the panel members include:

  • Barbara Lang, President and CEO, D.C. Chamber of Commerce;
  • Joslyn Williams, President, Metropolitan Washington Council, AFL-CIO;
  • Terry Thompson Mallett, resident of the Hawthorne neighborhood in Ward 4;
  • Robert Vinson Brannum, Ward 5 resident and President of the D.C. Federation of Civic Associations;
  • John Thomas, Director of the Urban Forestry Administration, D.C. Department of Transportation;
  • Steven Whatley, Chair, ANC 4A;
  • Eugene Kinlow, Ward 8 resident;
  • Steve Williford, Public Building Service of GSA;
  • Chuck Thies, Political Consultant; and
  • Chuck Berger, Board Member, Capitol Hill Chamber of Commerce.

Additional members from other wards in the District are being identified for membership.

In Prince George's county, the panel members include:

  • Alex Hirtle, Office of Ingrid M. Turner, Prince George's County Council;
  • Jack Baker, Director, Operations and Maintenance, University of Maryland;
  • Marva Jo Camp, Esq., Vice Chair, Board of Directors Leadership Prince George's, Inc.;
  • Marc "Kap" Capastin, General Counsel Quantum Companies;
  • Malcolm Clerkley, Administrator of the Facilities Operations and Management Division on behalf of Office of Central Services;
  • Andrea Davey, The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission;
  • Michael Dodson, Prince George's County Public Schools;
  • Petey Green, Prince George's Black Chamber of Commerce;
  • Monroe Harrison, Director of Public Affairs, Gaylord-National Harbor;
  • Rhonda Jackson, Deputy Director, PSC Admin/Personnel Section, Office of Homeland Security;
  • Joan Kowal, Energy Manager, University of Maryland;
  • The Honorable Malinda Miles, Mayor, Mount Rainer, Maryland Black Mayors Association;
  • Mr. Craig Muckle, Public Affairs Manager, Safeway Stores, Inc.;
  • Larry Pauling, Director of Maintenance, Prince George's County Public Schools; and
  • Arthur Turner, Board Chairman, United Communities Against Poverty.

Additional members may be added.

Over the next several weeks, each panel will begin holding a series of town hall meetings in its respective jurisdiction. At the end of the process, the panels will provide recommendations from the community to the company. Debbi Jarvis, Vice President, Corporate Citizenship and Social Responsibility for Pepco Holdings, Inc., is serving as the company liaison to the panels.

The panels' work is slated to be completed by July 2011.


Pepco, a subsidiary of Pepco Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: POM), delivers safe, reliable and affordable electric service to more than 778,000 customers in Maryland and the District of Columbia.

© Potomac Electric Power Company, 2023. All Rights Reserved.